Continuity/Handoff fix for iOS 8 GM and OS X Yosemite DP8/Public Beta 3

Hello everyone!

Just a few days ago, Apple released the GM version of iOS 8. Along with it, they released OS X Yosemite Developer Preview 8 and Public Beta 3.

iOS 8

Today, my MacBook Pro came back from service (again) and I decided to format it and try Yosemite PB3. After installation, I set up everything I needed and then tested Handoff… nothing. It would’t work, no matter what I did. After some research, I tried to logout from my iCloud ID and sign back in, using the @me.com address. Finally, the little Safari icon on the left of the dock came up.

So here’s the fix that worked for me (may not work for everyone, but it’s worth a try):

  1. Open System Preferences and click on the iCloud panel
  2. Log out from your iCloud account (I deleted all the files on the Mac, but it should work as well if you keep them)
  3. Log back in using the @me.com address (or @icloud.com if you don’t have a .me address)
  4. Set up everything again
  5. Enjoy!

It’s a simple fix, but it worked flawlessly for me. Let me know if it works for you as well!

Commenta

